The 4Cs

The 4Cs system, which describes diamonds based on their cut, clarity, colour, and carat weight, was originally developed by the Gemological Institute of America (GIA) to characterise the quality of polished diamonds. 

Along with broader market conditions for diamonds, the 4Cs of diamond quality are the most important factors that influence the value of diamonds.

Learn more about the 4Cs of diamond quality below.


Cut, one of the 4Cs of diamond quality, refers to the relative quality of the proportions and finish of a polished diamond. Cut has two meanings in the diamond and jewellery industry, the first...

Read more


Colour Explained Diamond is composed almost entirely of carbon but does contain traces of other elements. These elements cause diamonds to have body colours in shades of yellow, gray and brown. Diamonds...

Read more


Clarity refers to the number, position, and size of inclusions and blemishes that occur naturally in diamonds. Clarity is another vital grading characteristic of diamonds and one of the 4Cs of diamond quality....

Read more

Carat Weight

Carat is the unit of measurement used to weigh diamonds and other gemstones. How much does a 1 carat diamond weigh? One carat (ct) is equivalent to 200 milligrams, i.e., 0.2 grams. The word carat comes from...

Read more